Return to Headlines

Hartman is a 2017 National Blue Ribbon School!

26 Texas public schools receive 2017 national Blue Ribbon honors
AUSTIN – The U.S. Department of Education announced today that 26 Texas public schools have been awarded Blue Ribbon honors for 2017. The schools were nominated earlier this year for the honor by the Texas Education Agency.

The schools in Texas include the following:

Amarillo ISD – Whittier Elementary School
Banquete ISD – Banquete Elementary School
Birdville ISD – Smithfield Elementary School
Dallas ISD – Barack Obama Male Leadership Academy
Dallas ISD – Dallas Environmental Science Academy
Dallas ISD – Irma Lerma Rangel Women’s Leadership School
Edinburg CISD – Austin Elementary School
Edinburg CISD – Jefferson Elementary School
El Paso ISD – Green Elementary School
El Paso ISD – Silva Health Magnet
Galveston ISD – Austin Middle School
Gunter ISD – Gunter Elementary School
Houston ISD – Eastwood Academy
Houston ISD – Lyons Elementary School
Jim Ned CISD – Lawn Elementary School
Judson ISD – Crestview Elementary School
KIPP Houston – KIPP Shine Prep
La Porte ISD – Jennie Reid Elementary School
Laredo ISD – Hector J. Garcia Early College High School
Los Fresnos ISD – Rancho Verde Elementary School
Montgomery ISD – Montgomery Intermediate School
Oakwood ISD – Oakwood Elementary School
San Antonio ISD – Travis Early College High School
Whitehouse ISD – Stanton-Smith Elementary School
Wylie ISD (Wylie) – RF Hartman Elementary School
Ysleta ISD – Valle Verde Early College High School

“A commitment to successful student outcomes can be witnessed every day on National Blue Ribbon campuses across Texas,” said Commissioner of Education Mike Morath. “I congratulate this year’s Blue Ribbon honorees, which represent the good work taking place in our Texas public schools.”

All schools were selected as exemplary high performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests. Each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 25 percent or greater. 

The schools completed a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference in Washington, D.C. 

Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels. 

For more information about the national Blue Ribbon Schools program, visit the U.S. Department of Education’s website at